CME TASK 3 – REFLECTION 4

Structure

I’ve been looking at the structure of pop songs, to build a framework for my own. The basic common structure is:

Intro

Verse

Chorus

Verse

Chorus 

Bridge

Chorus 

Ending

Instrumental sections can also be used.

Since I have a short time limit for my composition, I will probably not include a bridge or second chorus. I will be using folk-style violin and would like to involve a couple of instrumental sections, either as an introduction or towards the end.

Instrumentation

The main parts of a pop song that I will need to include are:

Main Vocal

Backing Vocals

Acoustic/Electric Guitar

Bass Guitar

Drums

Keyboard/Piano

Other possibilities:

Wind/Brass (such as saxophone, flute, trumpet)

Strings

Percussion (such as hand claps, shakers etc)

Synthesiser

Analysis of “Hurt Before”

I also made an analysis of my model: “Hurt Before.”The chord structure is very simple for this song. Apart from the solo section, the same basic chords are kept, adding 7ths or 9ths for interest. The texture is gradually built up over the duration of the song, beginning with only synth and bass. I found it interesting how the text changes from 3rd to 1st person in the different sections, creating a different perspective and feel.

Click here to see my analysis!

 

Leave a comment